A common request from customers of Web Hosting Hub involves the removal of a published website from the Plesk Premium Web Builder. This is often confused with a request to also have the Builder program un-installed. The removal of the website created by the Builder is a simple matter, but does not involve the removal of the program - primarily because the program is actually running on a different server. The following tutorial explains how to remove a Builder website in a few easy steps.
Removing a Website Published by the Plesk Premium Web Builder
- Determine the location where the website has been published. You can do this by simply logging into the Builder, then going to the Publishing settings in STEP 5. Here's a screenshot of the location for this information:
The location of the website can be seen as per above. By default, the location is in the public_html folder. If no changes have been made to the publishing settings, then it safe to say that the files are located in the PUBLIC_HTML folder.
- Go to your CPANEL and then launch the FILE MANAGER. When the File Manager is open you will see something similar to the following:
- Locate the PUBLIC_HTML folder and then click on it to see its contents. Select all of the contents within the PUBLIC_HTML folder to delete any website saved to that location. To delete the files, simply click on the DELETE option at the top of the file manager after you have selected the files. If your files are not located within the public_html folder, then find the location of the files as per the location indicated by the publishing settings shown in step 1. Then select and delete the files in that location.
When the files have been deleted, then the website published by the Builder has been removed. The program itself does NOT need to be un-installed. It is not located on your server and will not affect your future installations. It will always be available to you, if you wish to use it, but if you don't need it, simply do not use it. Since the first license for the Builder is free, it will not affect your hosting cost in any way. If you are paying for an extra license for the builder ($12 for 1 year), then you can contact Technical Support or Billing to have the second license terminated if that is your wish.